

Harness Racing Australia INC ABN 19 877 460 923

HARNESS RACING AUSTRALIA AWARDS

HRA Horse of the Year Awards Criteria

The Harness Racing Australia Horse of the Year Awards commenced in 1976 and are awarded each year to the best horses in the racing or breeding areas for the preceding season.

The Awards are announced in February each year to allow due process and consideration via the voting processes in each Category.

The various categories include:

- Australian Harness Horse of the Year
- Lawn Derby Awards for Pacers
- Vancleve Awards for Trotters
- Globe Derby Awards for Sires and Broodmare Sires
- Winona & Maori Miss Awards for Broodmares

The base criteria for all awards require that a sire, dam, or their progeny shall not be eligible for any HRA Horse of the Year Award unless it is named and registered in accordance with the Australian Trotting Stud Book and Australian Harness Racing Rules.

Australian Harness Horse of the Year Award

The Australian Harness Horse of the Year Award is decided by a points system where five representatives from each of the six States vote for the horse they believe has performed best during the specified season.

The five voting representatives from each State are nominated by their State Controlling Body.

The criteria are strictly limited to:

- 1. Australian Bred Standardbreds; or,
- 2. Overseas Bred Standardbreds from the date they were permanently cleared into the Australian Trotting Stud Book; and,
- 3. That horse's performances both domestically and internationally during the specific season while being trained by an Australian Licensed Trainer.

Pacers and Trotters are eligible for this Award.

Lawn Derby Awards for Pacers

The Lawn Derby Awards for Pacers are decided by a points system where five representatives from each of the six States and the HRA Executive Members vote for the Pacers they believe have performed best during the specified season.

The five voting representatives from each State are nominated by their State Controlling Body



The criteria are strictly limited to:

- 1. Australian Bred Standardbred Pacers; or,
- 2. Overseas Bred Standardbred Pacers from the date they were permanently cleared into the Australian Trotting Stud Book; and,
- 3. That horse's Pacing Race performances both domestically and internationally during the specific season while being trained by an Australian Licensed Trainer.

The various categories for the Lawn Derby Awards for Pacers are:

- Pacer of the Year
- Aged Horse/Gelding Pacer of the Year
- Aged Pacing Mare of the Year
- 2YO Pacing Filly of the Year
- 2YO Pacing Colt/Gelding of the Year
- 3YO Pacing Filly of the Year
- 3YO Pacing Colt/Gelding of the Year

Vancleve Awards for Trotters

The Vancleve Awards for Trotters are decided by a points system where five representatives from the five States that conduct Trotting Races (which excludes Tasmania) vote for the Trotters they believe have performed best during the specified season.

The five representatives from these States are nominated by their State Controlling Body.

The criteria are strictly limited to:

- 1. Australian Bred Standardbred Pacers; or,
- 2. Overseas Bred Standardbred Pacers from the date they were permanently cleared into the Australian Trotting Stud Book; and,
- 3. That horse's Trotting Races performances both domestically and internationally during the specific season while being trained by an Australian Licensed Trainer.

The categories for the Vancleve Awards for Trotters are:

- Trotter of the Year
- Aged Horse/Gelding Trotter of the Year
- Aged Trotting Mare of the Year
- 2YO Trotting Filly of the Year
- 2YO Trotting Colt/Gelding of the Year
- 3YO Trotting Filly of the Year
- 3YO Trotting Colt/Gelding of the Year



Globe Derby Awards - Sires and Broodmare Sires

The Globe Derby Awards for Sires are based on the leading Sire in each Category, as per HRA's annual Top 20 Reports.

- Leading Sire by Stakemoney: is the Sire whose progeny (for Pacers and Trotters) have won the most Stakemoney in Australia during a specific season.
- Leading Juvenile Sire by Stakemoney: is the Sire whose 2- and 3-year-old progeny (for Pacers and Trotters) have won the most Stakemoney in Australia during a specific season.

Leading Sires by Winners, Broodmare Sires by Stakemoney, and Winners <u>in Australia</u> during a specific season are also recognised in this category.

Winona Award – Pacing Gaited Broodmares

This category is open to all Australian-based Pacing Gaited Broodmares whose progeny were served by a Stallion Registered in the Australian Trotting Stud Book and these progeny's racing performances in Australia and or overseas during the specific season.

The winner is decided on a voting system where one representative from each of the six State Controlling Bodies, plus one representative from each of the State Breeders Associations, vote on a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd choice basis for the Broodmares of their choice.

3 points are allocated for the 1st choice, 2 points for the 2nd choice and 1 point for the 3rd choice. Once all votes are received, the points are combined, and the Pacing Broodmare with the greatest number of points is declared the winner.

The representatives from the States are nominated by their State Controlling Body and Breeding Associations respectively.

Should there be a tie, the HRA Executive will decide the winner.

Maori Miss Award – Trotting Gaited Broodmares

This category is open to all Australian-based Trotting Gaited Broodmares whose progeny were served by a Stallion Registered in the Australian Trotting Stud Book and these progeny's racing performances in Australia and or overseas during the specific season.

The winner is decided on a voting system where one representative from each of the six State Controlling Bodies, plus one representative from each of the State Breeders Associations, vote on a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd choice basis for the Broodmares of their choice.

3 points are allocated for the 1st choice, 2 points for the 2nd choice and 1 point for the 3rd choice. Once all votes are received, the points are combined, and the Trotting Broodmare with the greatest number of points is declared the winner.



The representatives from the States are nominated by their State Controlling Body and Breeding Associations respectively.

Should there be a tie, the HRA Executive will decide the winner.