

Rules Governing the Australian Driving Championship

Preamble

Established in 2014, the Australian Driving Championship is a <u>Championship Series</u> contested by nominated representatives from each of the six State Controlling Bodies for harness racing in Australia.

The Championship Series is designed to, as much as possible, pit Australia's best drivers against each other in an even competition which will be used as one of the selection tools to determine Australia's representative at the World Driving Championship held every two years.

Conduct

- 1. The Championship Series is owned by Harness Racing Australia (HRA).
- 2. The Championship will be raced in accord with the Australian Rules of Harness Racing (ARHR) and the Rules Governing the Australian Driving Championship (ADC).
- 3. The Conducting Controlling Body (CCB) is selected by negotiation.
- 4. Selection of venue, date and internal organisation are matters for the CCB.
- 5. The airfares of the participants shall be arranged by the Controlling Body of State nominating such participants.
- 6. Accommodation, meals and transfers to be arranged and paid for by the CCB and/or participating venues. Drinks, entertainment, travelling etc. not provided by the participating venues or Conducting Controlling Body are to be paid personally by the participating drivers.

Nomination & Eligibility of Representatives.

- 7. Each Australian Controlling Body shall be invited to nominate two drivers.
- 8. Controlling Bodies shall nominate their two drivers at least 4-weeks prior to the scheduled start of the Championship Series.
- 9. The CCB will declare an Emergency Driver at least one week prior to the first race of the Championship Series. The role of the Emergency Driver is to fill a vacancy should it arise, for whatever reason.
- 10. It is expected that participants will attend <u>all required</u> social and other functions.

- 11. The participating drivers will be notified by the CCB of the Guidelines and Conditions under which they will drive at least two weeks prior to the first race of the Championship Series and of the arrangements for accommodation, travelling and personal expenses together with the logistics of travel and accommodation involved in the Series.
- 12. The maximum number of participating drivers in the Championship Series shall be limited to twelve (12) drivers.
- 13. Should there be a vacancy(ies) created for any reason prior to the commencement of the Series, another driver or drivers may be appointed from the Controlling Body which the vacancy(ies) emanated from.
- 14. Should there be a vacancy(ies) created for any reason during the Series, and the Emergency Driver is already filling a vacancy, the CCB may appoint a Replacement Driver or drivers from their jurisdiction.
- 15. Each of the drivers competing shall be licensed and free of driving restrictions by the nominating Body at the time of the first race of the Championship Series.

Racing Conditions & Points System

- 16. For the purpose of handicapping, the races on which the Series will be determined shall be <u>penalty free</u> to the horse winning these races.
- 17. Each race in the Series shall be restricted to no more than 12 starters plus 2 emergencies.
- 18. As far as possible the total number of races for the Series shall be no less than 6 and no more than 10 races, with 12 starters in each race and with each driver participating.
- 19. All Championship Series races are to be started with a mobile barrier, with barrier positions/formations in accordance with that tracks usual practice.
- 20. Horses are to be graded as evenly as possible for both the race and barrier position.
- 21. Driving assignments will be drawn randomly following the grading of horses into barrier positions.
- 22. A driver shall not drive a horse such driver normally drives or works.
- 23. Should the number of races or starters vary in any way, the principle or spirit of these regulations shall be adhered to and if for any reason some inequalities exist in any Championship Series, the issue shall be decided by ballot.
- 24. Points for the Championship will be awarded in each race on the following basis:

Number of starters 12: 19(1), 14(2), 11(3), 9(4), 8(5), 7(6), 6(7), 5(8), 4(9), 3(10), 2(11), 1 (12) Number of starters 11: 18(1), 13(2), 10(3), 8(4), 7(5), 6(6), 5(7), 4 (8), 3 (9), 2(10), 1(11). Number of starters 10: 17(1), 12(2), 9(3), 7(4), 6(5), 5(6), 4(7), 3(8), 2(9), 1(10). Number of starters 9: 16(1), 11(2), 8(3), 6(4), 5(5), 4(6), 3(7), 2(8), 1(9). Number of starters 8: 15(1), 10(2), 7(3), 5(4), 4(5), 3(6), 2(7), 1(8).

- 25. a. In the event of a horse being scratched or failing to complete the race as a result of a racing incident deemed by the Meeting's Stewards Panel, five (5) points shall be awarded to the driver. In all other cases where a horse and driver fail to complete the race the driver will receive one (1) point.
 - b. In the event of a dead heat for any placing in any race, the points for the horses involved in the dead heat will be added together and divided equally among the drivers concerned.
 - **c.** In the event of a driver being suspended in a race in the Series, no points (zero) will be awarded to the driver for that race. For the purposes of these Rules, suspension shall only refer to a race day determination of the stewards in that race, and not to any subsequent determination emanating from another matter.
 - d. In the event of a horse being disqualified from a race in the Series points will not be awarded to the driver for that race. For the purposes of these Rules, disqualification shall only refer to a race day determination of the stewards and not to any subsequent determination emanating from another matter.
- 26. The points score shall be kept by an Official Points Scorer appointed by HRA.
- 27. In the event of a driver who has been suspended in a race in the Series being suspended in a later race in the Series the driver shall not be eligible to compete in any remaining races in the Series.
- 28. In the event a driver cannot take their place in a race for any reason, then the horse that representative was to drive will be driven by the Emergency Driver in the first instance, and if the Emergency Driver is already engaged, a Replacement Driver with points earned allocated to the Emergency Driver or Replacement Driver tally.
- 29. In the event of a tie for any position, the driver with the most number of winning drives in the Championship races shall be declared the winner; if still tied the greater number of second placed drives and so on until the winner is declared.
- 30. Driving fees are paid to the competing drivers in line with the CCB's usual driving fee schedule.
- 31. The driver with the most points after "all clear" is given in the last race of the Series shall be declared the Australian Driving Champion.

Other

- 32. Each participating Controlling Body shall be responsible for the insuring of their nominated representatives in accordance with the normal commercial insurance arrangements currently in place in Australia.
- 33. Each participating Controlling Body shall be responsible for outfitting their respective entrants and shall at the time of nomination provide the CCB with photographs and written profiles.
- 34. All drivers will be required to submit to testing used to detect alcohol and drugs of abuse. Drivers exceeding set limits will not be permitted to participate in the Championship Series.

- 35. A gold, silver and bronze medal shall be created by the conducting Controlling Body and awarded to the first three drivers in the Series based on total points achieved in descending order.
- 36. In the event of a situation arising which is not covered by these Guidelines, then HRA, in consultation with the CCB, shall have the authority to determine the matter. These Rules will be reviewed after each Championship Series and the views of all parties taken into account.